To cancel or not to cancel ROJoson Medical Clinic; to go or not to go to clinic

July 27, 2017

Question: In the light of bad weather, do I cancel or not cancel my ROJoson Medical Clinic today?  In the light of bad weather, should patients with booked appointment time today go to ROJoson Medical Clinic?

This morning at about 4 or 5 am, it was raining hard in Makati.  I was hoping it would stop as I had to make a decision whether to cancel or not to cancel my clinic session at 10 to 12 am. I know there were patients lined up to see me today.

At 7 am, the rain had stopped but the sky was still dark. I was still deciding whether to cancel or not to cancel my clinic session because of the bad weather situation and because of the possible floods along my way to Manila Doctors Hospital.  I received a flood advisory from Manila Doctors Hospital at 715 am saying there was gutter-deep flood along UN Avenue and Kalaw Street.

I decided to open my laptop and look at the PAGASA and MMDA Facebook and Twitter. A patient asked me in Facebook at 730 am whether I would hold clinic considering the bad weather.  She had an appointment at 10 am.  I said yes after considering the reports and updates from PAGASA and MMDA and the rain had stopped raining in my place.  I decided not to cancel my clinic.

I left my house at about 805 am.  My clinic was supposed to start at 10 am.  When I reached Sta. Ana, I met a heavy traffic. I thought the traffic might be due to street flood.  I was thinking of changing my decision to hold clinic and to go back.

I texted my secretary and asked her where she was at that time.  She was already in the clinic at 8 am.  I asked her whether the streets were flooded.  She said no.   with those answers; having said yes that I would hold clinic to a patient who asked me in Facebook earlier; with no way to inform the patients who were scheduled to see me today that I would cancel my clinic session today; and not wanting to disappoint the patients who were scheduled to see today, I decided to be patient with the traffic and proceeded to Manila Doctors Hospital.  I was in Manila Doctors Hospital at 850 am.  There was gutter-deep flood in a short segment of United Nations Avenue.  The flood in Kalaw Street had subsided.

With this experience today, I asked my secretary for a recommendation on how we should give timely advice to our patients who are scheduled to see us in our clinic whenever there is a rain-flood-wind situation in Metro Manila and whenever we decided to cancel our clinic session.

Here are my recommendations.

I will coordinate with my secretary at about 5 to 6 am whenever there is a rain-flood-wind situation in Metro Manila.  We will assess the situation through PAGASA and MMDA Facebook and Twitter and other sources of information.  We will collaboratively decide whether we will cancel clinic session for the day or not.

We advise patients who are scheduled to go to ROJOson Medical Clinic on that day to text or call me through my cellphone (09188040304) from 7 am to 8 am and check with me whether there is clinic session or not.  We will also give the advisory on whether there will be ROJoson Medical Clinic session or not to the telephone operator (5580888) of Manila Doctors Hospital (in case I cannot be reached through my cellphone).

We also advise patients NOT to go to the ROJoson Medical Clinic during a severe rain-flood-wind situation.  We don’t like them to risk their life and limbs just to be at ROJoson Medical Clinic.

These recommendations are made because we are concerned with the welfare of our patients.  We don’t like our patients to go to the ROJoson Medical Clinic and, after arrival, just to be told that there won’t be any clinic for the day and that the clinic has been cancelled because of the rain-flood-wind situation.  We don’t like our patients to risk the rain-flood-wind situation just to meet their appointment schedule with ROJoson Medical Clinic.

Just a request, in case the ROJoson Medical Clinic will push through during the rain-flood-wind situation, for those who cannot make it to the clinic for one reason or another, please text or call (09188040304) to inform so that we will not wait unnecessarily.

Another request, text or call me through my cellphone during the rain-flood-wind situation ONLY.

Thank you.

We recommend reading this other advisory from ROJoson Medical Clinic:

Be Prepared for Rain-Flood-Wind-Traffic Emergencies and Disasters (RFWTED) – To Travel or Not to Place of Work

https://rojosonmedicalclinic.wordpress.com/2014/07/09/be-prepared-for-rain-flood-wind-traffic-emergencies-and-disasters-rfwted-to-travel-or-not-to-place-of-work/

ROJ@17jul27

 

This entry was posted in Rain-Flood-Wind Emergencies. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

