Lunge as an effective remedy to plantar and ankle stiffness and inflammation

A lunge can refer to any position of the human body where one leg is positioned forward with knee bent and foot flat on the ground while the other leg is positioned behind.de6417970bae92e3_reverse_lunge_fpI used the word “genuflection” for laypeople to facilitate understanding and doing the exercise.

IMG_5142

Last April 2017, a 57-year-old Filipino female with a breast concern told me she has been having left ankle pain for one month already.  When I examined her ankle, I did not see any gross abnormality.  I diagnosed her to have a non-specific left ankle pain with stiffness and inflammation. I advised her to do lunges.  She noted down my instructions of “25x/day.”  She also noted down as part of her personal medical record “for pain on the right innerside of my left heel.”

June 10, 2016, when I saw her again for her breast check-up, she happily reported the pain disappeared after 2 days of doing the lunges or genuflections.  She was indeed very happy. I told her to do the exercise everyday.


Personal Experience

I had plantar fasciitis late 2014 to 2015 lasting for about a year. It disappeared late 2015 one week after I did stretching exercises, particular lunges, with no recurrence up to now – 2017. I am still doing daily lunge exercise.


Lunge is an effective remedy to plantar and ankle stiffness and inflammation. Try  it.



Side comments:

  1.  I am a general surgeon.  I still practice general medicine like the patient I mentioned above – managing her ankle pain.  If there is a fracture or torn ligament or tumor, I refer the patient to an orthopedic surgeon already.
  2. Based on my diagnosis, I did not have to order for an x-ray or MRI.  I rationalize my use of diagnostic procedures based on my clinical diagnosis.


ROJ@17jun12

This entry was posted in Lunges. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

