Importance of patients keeping their medical records and bringing them during consultation

In the past, I have written on the importance of patients keeping their medical records and bringing them during consultation.

Today, April 1, 2017, I have two patients who gave a good actual demonstration of this importance.

First patient brought her past medical records starting from 2013 when she first consulted me to the last checkup in 2016.  My chart contained only 2016 records as my secretary had misplaced her past medical records.  The records contained in a plaster folder belonged to the patient.

IMG_4828

She kept all her medical records in this small plastic folder.

IMG_4825

These were her copies of the medical records I gave her in 2013 to 2015 which are missing in my medical chart.

IMG_4824

She even kept the flier on Breast Self-exam which I gave her in 2013.

IMG_4823

Another patient brought her medical records starting 2007 to present.

IMG_4841

Showing 2007 and 2008 records which were not present in my records anymore (as these were misplaced by my secretary)

IMG_4834

Showing the 2010, 2011, and 2015 records.

IMG_4836

With a reconstitution of her records, I was able to review her medical history from 2007 to 2017.  She had fibrocystic breasts which I have been monitoring for the past 10 years.IMG_4837

IMG_4839

I like to emphasize again the importance of keeping and bringing past medical records when consulting a physician.

As I have posted before:

Primary advantage consists of ready availability of information for the physicians to use in their assessment and evaluation of the patients’ current medical conditions. Related to the primary advantage is the prevention of patients having to come back to the physician’s clinic just to bring back past medical records left at home.  Still related to the primary advantage is the ready availability of information when the records of the physicians are lost or misplaced. Secondary advantage consists of avoidance of repeat diagnostic tests when previous medical records are lacking or absent.

Advice to patients: always keep and bring your previous medical records when consulting a physician.

ROJ@17apr2

This entry was posted in Medical Records. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

