Avoiding Leg Edema through Exercises

Sitting and standing for a long time can cause edema of the legs. I have tried to mitigate it by not sitting and standing too long without breaks and I also do some stretching and bending of my legs and feet (which is more effective) to increase and maintain my muscle tone thereby improve and maintain good circulation.

In 2014 to 2015, I have experienced leg and foot edema inspite of my regular walking exercise. I noticed hyperpigmentation on my legs and feet which is usually due to stagnation of venous blood flow.  See pictures below.

In 2015 to 2016, I started on stretching and bending exercises of my legs and feet including lunges. The edema and hyperpigmentation have since been controlled. I don’t have to wear elastic stockings yet. I recommend everybody to do exercises to increase the muscle tone to avoid leg edema and control hyperpigmentation. See pictures below.

2015

Note the edema on the feet and legs near the ankles.

roj_pedal_edema_nov2015 (1)

roj_pedal_edema_nov2015 (2)

Note the hyperpigmentation – dark brown discoloration of the legs near the ankles.

roj_pedal_edema_nov2015 (3)

2016

Resolution of the pedal edema

IMG_1015

IMG_1016

Controlled hyperpigmentation

IMG_1018

ROJ@16mar24

This entry was posted in Leg Edema. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

