Stethoscope and Malicious Touching

This photo has recently been circulating in my Facebook news feed.

Source: Medical Talks

12809775_1338004482892133_2602597606174845236_n

Insights:

It is true that pressing the ear of the physician against the chest wall of a patient was how physicians used to hear lung and heart sounds before Lennac invented the stethoscope.  I still do this when there is no stethoscope on hand and I need to hear the lung and heart sounds and right away.  However, I don’t do this maneuver with malicious touching of the patient’s body parts like the breasts.

Are there physicians who do this maneuver with intent of malicious touching of the patient’s breasts in past and at present as depicted in this photo by Medical Talks?  I like to think this photo is just a joke.  I like to think that all physicians do not do this.  I hope not.

ROJ-TPOR@16mar6

This entry was posted in Stethoscope. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

