Thyroid – Sa Loob, Sa Labas

In the Philippines, when there is a patient with goiter, lay people usually ask whether it is “sa loob” or “sa labas.” (inside or outside).

Over the years, I have been hearing this.  I don’t understand what this really means.

What I know as a concern of the physician is that whether the goiter is associated with hyperthyroidism or hypothyroidism and whether the goiter is associated with cancer or not cancer.

Lately (2016), I tried to inquire further on a patient who has a goiter and who asked me whether it is “sa loob” or “sa labas.”

I learned that when lay people say the goiter is “sa loob,”  what they mean is hyperthyroidism.  “Sa labas” is not hyperthyroidism at the very least.   I don’t know what are their other connotations on “sa labas.”

From now on, I know how to respond to lay people’s query on whether the goiter is “sa loob” or “sa labas.”  I will tell them it is not “sa loob” or it is “sa labas” when I am not dealing with a case of hyperthyroidism.  I will then explain further why the goiter is not associated with hyperthyroidism.  I will also explain my current diagnosis and its basis – whether it is hypothyroidism and whether the goiter is associated with cancer or not cancer.

ROJ-TPOR@16feb25

This entry was posted in Thyroid. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

