ROJoson’s Patients Saved from Unnecessary Breast Operations – October 14, 2014 (#19)

ROJoson’s Patients Saved from Unnecessary Breast Operations – September 10, 2014 (#19)

October 14, 2014, Ms. M. Babac, a 41-year-old female came to me for second opinion after he was advised by another surgeon to have a breast operation.  I examined her breasts and found no dominant mass, just lumpy breast tissues consistent with fibrocystic changes. When I asked her what would be indication for the operation, she showed me her breast ultrasound result.

baccad1 - Copy

When I saw the above result, I noticed there were check marks after the word “solid.”  I asked her who placed the check marks.  She said the other surgeon who told her all the solid nodules should be removed as they might be cancers.  I explained to her what she had was a fibrocystic breast condition or fibrocystic changes.  The “solids” on ultrasound were the fibrous part of the fibrocystic changes and the “cysts” are the cystic part of the fibrocystic changes.  I told her there is no need for an operation, just monitoring and check-up.

It goes without saying that Ms. Babac was happy after hearing my findings, opinion and recommendation.  I was also happy because I felt still useful in my retirement years as I prevented this patient from an unnecessary breast operation.  If I can save more patients from unnecessary breast operations by continuing to be around, I will do so. I will be a productive retiree.

patients_saved_rj_12jun23_jul28_31_sept3_oct14_12dec14

patients_saved_rj_12jun23_13mar14_13apr13_oct12_14oct13_14

******************************************

History of ROJoson’s Project: ROJoson’s Patients Saved from Unnecessary Breast Operations – June 23, 2012 (Start of Registry)

Posted on June 23, 2012

Today, June 23, 2012, I had a patient, Elizabeth_C, 40s, a sewer, whom I saved from an unnecessary breast operation.  She had a macrocyst which I just aspirated.   Prior to seeing me, she was advised by another physician to have a breast operation.   No doubt, as a result of what I did, she was very thankful to me as I saved her from an unnecessary breast operation. I have experienced a lot of this kind of situation before, that is, patients advised to have breast operations but which to me are not necessary, either just a needle aspiration is needed or the patient just has a fibrocystic breast condition, which is considered normal. Today, June 23, 2012, I start a project dubbed as “Patients Saved from Unnecessary Breast Operations.”  I will make a registry of patients whom I have saved from unnecessary breast operations.   The main inclusion criterion will be those patients who were previously advised to have a breast operation (one that is more than a needle evaluation and aspiration with or without biopsy) and after my evaluation, I decided it is not needed and the patient appreciated my recommendation.  I will target a total of 50 patients in the registry.  I can backtrack, meaning those patients that I have saved from unnecessary breast operations even before June 23, 2012 can be included in the registry. This will be another legacy that I will leave behind for my patients.  The other one that I have started in December 2011 is the ROJoson’s Cancer Survivors in which I am also using “50″ as a target.   As of December 11, 2012, I already have 50 survivors in the registry.  I have reached my target.  As of October, 2014, I already have 95 survivors in the registry. The ROJoson’s Cancer Survivors and the ROJoson’s Patients Saved from Unnecessary Breast Operations will be one of my end-points in which I can say I have lived a life that matters.

patients_saved_logo_rj_12jul23

This entry was posted in Patients Saved from Unnecessary Breast Operations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

